Primary Documents

You're browsing the full list of articles in the database. Know what you're looking for? We recommend you use the search function at the top of this page.

Reverend Tom Brock's 'Courage' Falters When Faced with Exposure
Friday, June 18, 2010
Why Journalists Get Squeamish over James O'Keefe's Tactics
Thursday, February 4, 2010
Rather than fight in World War II, conscientious objector and Quaker Charlie Lord was sent by the government to work at a mental institution called Philadelphia State Hospital. He secretly took photographs to expose the horrors of the institution. These are his photos.
Wednesday, December 30, 2009
Stories from the Hunt
Friday, November 20, 2009
Shedding Your Identity in the Digital Age
Friday, November 20, 2009
Thursday, November 5, 2009
An Analytical History of John L. Spivak's Photographic Portrayal of 1930s Georgia Chain Gangs
Thursday, October 1, 2009
James O'Keefe calls himself a progressive radical and an investigative journalist without formal training. ACORN's tactics had made him angry, he says.
Saturday, September 19, 2009
Just the latest in a long series of indecencies.
Monday, September 14, 2009
Thursday, September 10, 2009
A local Chicago investigative reporter uses shoe-leather techniques and digital tools to uncover health and safety violations and be sure the news is widely spread
Monday, June 1, 2009
When you think of great investigative journalism, sensational tabloids don't ordinarily spring right to mind. But perhaps because it does fit into the sensational category, the John Edwards story was broken by The National Enquirer. Kelly Cobiella visits the tabloid … and tells all.
Wednesday, February 11, 2009
Ghana's Anas Aremayew Anas on Undercover Journalism
Tuesday, November 25, 2008
Mail Investigation Uncovers Financial Firms' Reluctance to Mortgage One-Bed Apartments, Crucial Bottom Rung on the Property Ladder.
Monday, November 24, 2008
Friday, October 17, 2008
Thursday, September 18, 2008
When the BBC Asked Me to Go Undercover in the British Army to Investigate Bullying, I Had to Think Long and Hard
Thursday, September 18, 2008
Thursday, September 18, 2008
One Year as a Kaplan Coach in the Public Schools
Monday, September 1, 2008
Life at the Wrong End of the Job Market
Monday, September 1, 2008
Friday, August 8, 2008
Wednesday, August 6, 2008
Tuesday, July 29, 2008
Old friends and longtime aides are wringing their hands over Bill Clinton’s post–White House escapades, from the dubious (and secretive) business associations to the media blowups that have bruised his wife’s campaign, to the private-jetting around with a skirt-chasing, scandal-tinged posse. Some point to Clinton’s medical traumas; others blame sheer selfishness, and the absence of anyone who can say “no.” Exploring Clintonworld, the author asks if the former president will be consumed by his own worst self.
Tuesday, July 1, 2008
Wednesday, April 16, 2008